The NATO Headquarters in Brussels is the political headquarters of the Alliance. Simultaneously it is the permanent home of the North Atlantic Council. It houses Permanent Representatives and national delegations, the Secretary General and the International Staff, national Military Representatives, the Chairman of the Military Committee and the International Military Staff. More over it accommodates the diplomatic missions of Partner countries, the NATO Headquarters Consultation, Command and Control (C3) Staff and a number of NATO agencies. There are about 3150 people working at NATO Headquarters on a full-time basis. Some 1400 of these are members of national delegations and national military representatives to NATO. There are roughly 1300 civilian members of the International Staff or agencies and 350 members of the International Military Staff involving about 80 civilian personnel.
At the November 2002 Prague Summit, NATO Heads of State and Government agreed a package of measures aimed at increasing the Alliance's ability to cope with today's security threats and challenges. This included a reorganization of NATO's international staff and the implementation of modern management processes. The primary aim of the restructuring is to ensure a fairer redistribution of responsibilities among divisions, strengthen management of the staff and improve coordination on key issues and programmes. The new structure consists of six divisions, each headed by an Assistant Secretary General, and the NATO Office of Security, headed by a Director.
The Secretary General is a senior international statesman nominated by the member governments as Chairman of the North Atlantic Council, the Defence Planning Committee and the Nuclear Planning Group. He is responsible for promoting and directing consultations and for decision-making process throughout NATO. He may propose items for discussion and decision and has the authority to use his offices in cases of dispute between member countries. He is responsible for directing the International Staff and is the main spokesman for the Alliance, both in its external relations and in communications and contacts with member governments and with media.
The Deputy Secretary General assists the Secretary General and replaces him during his absence.
Executive Management – is responsible for running the Headquarters effectively, ensuring that NATO's international staff works efficiently, and providing support to all elements operating at NATO Headquarters, including support and conference services, information management and NATO's human and financial resources.
Political Affairs and Security Policy – the division with the main role in the political aspects of NATO's fundamental security tasks, including regional, economic and security affairs, relations with other international organizations and partner countries.
Operations - provides the operational capability required to meet NATO's deterrence, defence and crisis management tasks. Responsibilities include NATO's crisis management and peacekeeping activities and civil emergency planning and exercises.
Defence Policy and Planning - takes the leading role in the defence policy aspects of NATO's fundamental security tasks. This includes defence planning, the Alliance's nuclear policy and defence against weapons of mass destruction.
Public Diplomacy – holds responsibility for informing the wider public about NATO's activities and policies through contacts with the media, the NATO Web site and print publications, seminars and conferences, as well as NATO's Science Programme.
Defence Investment - will be responsible for the development of and investment in assets and capabilities aimed at enhancing the Alliance's defence capacity, including armaments planning, air defence and security investment.
NATO Office of Security - will remain a distinct organization responsible for coordinating, monitoring and implementing NATO security policy, overall security within NATO and the NATO Headquarters Security Service.
Last modified: Friday, February 4, 2011, 1:32 PM